Deus_Ex_ Mankind_Divided-Steam_screenshot_18
Image source: Steam

Here’re the 5 upcoming games of the year that I’m interested in, as mentioned slightly in my post about the leaked Steam Summer Sale 2016 date. I wasn’t really feeling interested or hyped about this year’s games (except for February’s Kindred Spirits on the Roof, which I was really excited for), but as we come to the end of May I’ve managed to end up with 5 upcoming titles which have captured my interest to differing degrees – some are a must-buy, others I’ll keep an eye on but am unlikely to buy on release or at all. Here they are.

1. FLOWERS -Le Volume Sur Printemps-

A yuri visual novel with nice art, beautiful music, good voice-acting and is set in a high school? Well, I guess it’s hard for me to say no to that. Apparently the Steam release got delayed due to complaints about the demo’s translation, and while the demo seems to be fine now, it’s likely that it’ll take a while for the full product to be fixed. Once again, my patience finds itself tested…

The plot (taken from Steam): In the middle of a forest isolated from the rest of the world lies Saint Angraecum Academy, an all-girls school. This is where Suoh Shirahane, a painfully shy girl with a mysterious past, will begin her first year of high school. Follow her as she navigates new friendships within the academy’s special “Amitiė” partner program and attempts to unravel the many mysteries at the academy, including occult rituals and the mysterious disappearance of fellow students, all while trying to pass her classes.

Within the halls of Saint Angraecum Academy, spring warms into summer, as does Suoh’s friendships until they too blossom into something much more.

While I’m looking forward to this, I’m not feeling too crazy about the mystery stuff mentioned in the synopsis really, and the demo – which takes place in the middle of chapter two and revolves around missing library books and stuff – didn’t had me sold on anything narrative-related either. But despite that it wasn’t dreadfully dull or anything, and the art and voice-acting were pretty darn good. The soundtrack in the chapter was nice but didn’t really stand out, but the track playing in the menu was really, really nice. So I’m still eager to get this, even though I’m not as hyped for it as I was for Kindred Spirits on the Roof.

Interest level: 9/10 – Must-buy; probable Day 1 purchase.

2.  Psycho-Pass: Mandatory Happiness

This Psycho-Pass visual novel had me relatively intrigued from the moment I read about it, but this article on Kotaku was what convinced me to buy it when it releases (it’s already out in Japan though).

It sounds like there’ll be lots of messed up stuff happening, so yes, please count me in.

Plot (taken from the official site): 2112, Tokyo. Two new detectives have been assigned to the MWPSB Criminal Investigation Department Division 1. Nadeshiko Kugatachi is an Inspector whose memories were wiped, while Takuma Tsurugi is an Enforcer who is searching for his missing childhood friend. Calm, serious, and unable to comprehend human emotions, Nadeshiko meets Tsurugi, a hot-headed man determined to become a tough detective. Once they encounter each other, the gears of fate begin to turn.

The story takes place somewhere far away from Tokyo in the once futuristic Sado Marine City.
What will their answers be when they reach the “truth”…?

And just to put it out there, I’ve only watched about 20 minutes of the first recap movie of the anime.

Interest level: 9/10 -Must buy; probable Day 1 purchase.

3. Deus Ex: Mankind Divided

I enjoyed the director’s cut of Deus Ex: Human Revolution (the gameplay videos didn’t appeal to me at all but I bought it anyway and ended up loving it), and hearing about improved boss battles and more non-lethal options and seeing the new augmentations in action made me consider making its upcoming sequel Deus Ex: Mankind Divided a Day 1 purchase. The problem was, since I played Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain last year, my appetite for stealth, action and freedom felt pretty well-satiated, and it seemed like it’d remain that way for a while. Also, I had played Human Revolution just a few months before The Phantom Pain, and for all the changes and improvements Mankind Divided still seemed a little too familiar, so my Day 1 purchase considerations quickly disappeared.

Thankfully, Mankind Divided was delayed from February to August, and now the fancy augmentations, futuristic setting and freedom in play-style and customization are starting to appeal a bit to me again. I’m not sure about the price of RM 190 though.

Plot (taken from Steam): The year is 2029, and mechanically augmented humans have now been deemed outcasts, living a life of complete and total segregation from the rest of society. 

Now an experienced covert operative, Adam Jensen is forced to operate in a world that has grown to despise his kind. Armed with a new arsenal of state-of-the-art weapons and augmentations, he must choose the right approach, along with who to trust, in order to unravel a vast worldwide conspiracy.
Interest level: 7-8/10 – Will probably get it, but maybe some time later when it gets a significant discount

4. Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare

Yeah… I guess seeing this on the list goes to show how disinterested I am in most of this year’s releases.

Okay, I’m half-joking. The reveal trailer definitely pales in comparison to Battlefield 1’s, but I don’t think the game will be terrible, maybe average at worst. But after my experiences with Black Ops 3’s multiplayer I definitely wasn’t really looking forward to the next CoD.

Well now, I sort of am. While I’m wary of the multiplayer, the space shenanigans shown in the trailer have made me look forward to seeing what the campaign’s gonna be like. Since Black Ops 1 the CoD games have been capturing my attention (though they only started receiving my money with Advanced Warfare) with their multiplayer – which is why BO3’s multiplayer influenced my lack of excitement for the next CoD, despite knowing they would have different developers – so this is the first one in 6 years to do the opposite.

I don’t have big expectations though, and I don’t feel like paying over RM 160 just for singleplayer. So the campaign’s got my interest, but it’ll take the multiplayer to get my money.

Plot (taken from Steam): Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare will take players on an unforgettable journey as they engage in heroic battles from Earth to beyond our atmosphere against a relentless, enemy faction that threatens our very way of life.

Interest level: 6/10 – Interested in seeing more of the campaign, but purchase considerations hinges on multiplayer reveal.

And lastly…

5. Battlefield 1

This is the only game on this list which I have zero intention of buying whatsoever. With the previous Battlefields, my excuse was because they used Origin and weren’t on Steam (and ultimately I preferred smaller-scale multiplayer firefights), and this time it’s also I’m not interested in the World War 1 setting.

And yet here it is on the list. While I’m not interested in playing a WW1 shooter I am intrigued to see what DICE does with the setting for their multiplayer, and if it’d be as bombastic and impressive in action as the reveal trailer (which has maybe a few seconds of actual gameplay). Also curious with the single player to a far lesser extent.

Plot: Not much info yet, but there’ll be multiple protagonists fighting on different fronts.

Interest level: 6/10 – Interested to see how it turns out, but will just watch videos instead of buying the game.